Encephalitis, myelitis and encephalomyelitis G04

The ICD10 code for the diagnosis "Encephalitis, myelitis and encephalomyelitis" is "G04". G04 is NOT a 'valid' or 'billable' ICD10 code. Please select a more specific diagnosis below.

  • G04 should not be used for reimbursement purposes. Please select a more specific diagnosis below.
  • The 2019 edition of ICD-10-CM G04 became effective on October 1, 2018.
  • This is the American ICD-10-CM version of G04 - other international versions of ICD-10 G04 may differ.
Type 1 Excludes: Type 2 Excludes:
  • acute transverse myelitis (G37.3-)
  • alcoholic encephalopathy (G31.2)
  • benign myalgic encephalomyelitis (G93.3)
  • multiple sclerosis (G35)
  • subacute necrotizing myelitis (G37.4)
  • toxic encephalitis (G92)
  • toxic encephalopathy (G92)
  • acute ascending myelitis
  • meningoencephalitis
  • meningomyelitis

Codes: = Billable

Reimbursement claims with a date of service on or after October 1, 2015 require the use of ICD-10-CM codes.