Other sepsis A41

The ICD10 code for the diagnosis "Other sepsis" is "A41". A41 is NOT a 'valid' or 'billable' ICD10 code. Please select a more specific diagnosis below.

  • A41 should not be used for reimbursement purposes. Please select a more specific diagnosis below.
  • The 2019 edition of ICD-10-CM A41 became effective on October 1, 2018.
  • This is the American ICD-10-CM version of A41 - other international versions of ICD-10 A41 may differ.
Code First:
  • postprocedural sepsis (T81.4-)
  • sepsis during labor (O75.3)
  • sepsis following abortion, ectopic or molar pregnancy (O03-O07, O08.0)
  • sepsis following immunization (T88.0)
  • sepsis following infusion, transfusion or therapeutic injection (T80.2-)
Type 1 Excludes:
  • bacteremia NOS (R78.81)
  • neonatal (P36.-)
  • puerperal sepsis (O85)
  • streptococcal sepsis (A40.-)
Type 2 Excludes:
  • sepsis (due to) (in) actinomycotic (A42.7)
  • sepsis (due to) (in) anthrax (A22.7)
  • sepsis (due to) (in) candidal (B37.7)
  • sepsis (due to) (in) Erysipelothrix (A26.7)
  • sepsis (due to) (in) extraintestinal yersiniosis (A28.2)
  • sepsis (due to) (in) gonococcal (A54.86)
  • sepsis (due to) (in) herpesviral (B00.7)
  • sepsis (due to) (in) listerial (A32.7)
  • sepsis (due to) (in) melioidosis (A24.1)
  • sepsis (due to) (in) meningococcal (A39.2-A39.4)
  • sepsis (due to) (in) plague (A20.7)
  • sepsis (due to) (in) tularemia (A21.7)
  • toxic shock syndrome (A48.3)

Codes: = Billable

Reimbursement claims with a date of service on or after October 1, 2015 require the use of ICD-10-CM codes.